News Category

Search News



Most Popular Tags

Narendra Modi to Take Oath as India's Prime Minister for the Third Time; 8,000 Expected to Attend

Sunday, June 9, 2024 | June 09, 2024 WIB
Narendra Modi to Take Oath as India's Prime Minister for the Third Time; 8,000 Expected to Attend
Narendra Modi with President Government formation latter

New Delhi: BJP leader Narendra Modi to take oath, along with his council of ministers, at Rashtrapati Bhavan. Narendra Modi to Take Oath as India's Prime Minister for the Third Time; 8,000 Expected to Attend! 

BJP leader Narendra Modi will take the oath of office today to become the Prime Minister of India for the third time. The swearing-in ceremony will take place at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in the national capital at 7.15 pm. Around 8,000 people, including foreign dignitaries and prominent personalities from various fields, are expected to attend the event.

News key points:

1. Heads of several neighboring countries will be present at the event. Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, President of Maldives Mohamed Muizzu, Vice-President of Seychelles Ahmed Afif, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Nepal's Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda', and Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay, have all confirmed their attendance.

2. According to the Ministry of External Affairs, the presence of these leaders underscores the highest priority India accords to its 'Neighborhood First' policy and 'SAGAR' vision.

3. In 2014 and 2019, the leaders of SAARC and BIMSTEC countries attended the oath-taking ceremonies, respectively.

4. With his third term as Prime Minister, Narendra Modi equals Jawaharlal Nehru's record of serving three terms as the head of the country after completing two full terms.

5. Security has been tightened in the national capital ahead of the event. A no-flying zone has been declared for June 9 and 10, and nearly 1,100 traffic staff have been deployed to manage traffic flow during VIP movements.

6. The ceremony comes amid negotiations between the BJP and its allies regarding cabinet berths. Senior BJP leaders, including Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, and party president J P Nadda, have been in talks with TDP's N Chandrababu Naidu, JD(U)'s Nitish Kumar, and Shiv Sena's Eknath Shinde.

7. According to reports, TDP's Ram Mohan Naidu, JD(U)'s Lalan Singh, Sanjay Jha, and Ram Nath Thakur, and Chirag Paswan of the Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) are likely to be inducted into the cabinet.

8. The opposition bloc, INDIA, which won 234 seats in the Lok Sabha elections, has expressed doubts about the longevity of Modi's coalition government. The Congress party, the principal opposition, has warned the BJP that it will take appropriate action at the right time.

9. Following the ceremony, President Droupadi Murmu will host a banquet for the foreign dignitaries in attendance.

10. Congress leader KC Venugopal noted that opposition leaders have not received any information from the government regarding the swearing-in ceremony.

Narendra Modi's third term as Prime Minister marks a significant moment in Indian politics, with his Bharatiya Janata Party-led coalition government set to navigate the country through various economic and social challenges.
Latest News Update